Tune Tuesday: Algiers – But She Was Not Flying

I was told about Algiers a few weeks ago by a colleague. She played ‘But She Was Not Flying‘ to our office full of people, we then preceded to listen to it again and again, until we’d played the song about five times in a row. When I  got home I downloaded the album and listened to it repeat. It’s fantastic.

I wouldn’t even know where to begin if I had to label Algiers’ music with a genre, it’s a mix of gospel, experimental rock and post-punk. Shall we call it gosropunk? Definitely not. Far more important than what the music is defined as, is what the music is about. Algiers’ lyrics are profoundly political, they’re about poverty, race, politics, slavery and inequality in general.

Check out ‘But She Was Not Flying’ below.

Click here to visit Algiers website.

Leave a comment